German Photos Project Part II

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After I wrapped up my Research Rookies project on historians and photography, the research did not stop for me – I am currently blogging from Washington D.C. on a second research adventure thanks to NIU’s USOAR research grant.

This represents the second stage of my last research project, where I will be conducting my own archival research into German photos from Eastern Europe, particularly in their representation of civilians.

Day One in D.C.

I spent a good chunk of the day sifting through photographs at the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Photo Archive. This is the second time I have actually worked in an archive, so it was quite an exciting experience for a young budding historian. Although I didn’t get to see originals, I probably sifted through 1,000 photographs of which I identified a few key photographers/photographs I think would be of use. Overall, very productive day – and the archivists were extremely helpful. I was so engrossed in my work I forgot to eat lunch – oops!

In the afternoon I also had time to stop by the Smithsonian, Fords Theatre, and take a stroll down the Mall. Now to put together some notes and do some searches before more research tomorrow!

Day Two:

Went back to the archive today – another productive day! Identified some more photographers today, as well as patterns emerging in my search.

At around 2:00 p.m. I headed over to the Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division to examine their collection of official German photographs confiscated by American military personnel after the war. Although I encountered mostly military photographs, I did come across some interesting representations of civilians in albums. It was awesome to hold the original photographs from the 1940s!

Leave a Reply

