Deutsches Historisches Museum Dienstag

Tuesday was a very productive day.

I went to the DHM document center to view some original albums made by Wehrmacht soldiers stationed in Poland and other parts of Eastern Europe. Up until this point, my understanding of amateur photography came from the limited literature on this topic and some photos I had found on online databases.

But to view the original items and draw my own conclusions gave me an impression of what historians actually do. Getting this experience as an undergrad is what I love about the Research Rookies program.

After the DHM I returned to the Stabi where I managed to get through 4 years of the Berliner Illustrierte Zeitung without an alarm going off. It was interesting to see how war affected the press – by 1943 each issue was only 6 pages.

20131010-121135.jpg

Right now I am waiting for my connection to Osnabrück at Hannover train station. Going to take a mental break and visit some family!

Leave a Reply

