“If Copenhagen were a person, that person would be generous, beautiful, elderly, but with a flair”

Just when I couldn’t think of another reason Europe is the perfect place to study abroad, I discovered Copenhagen.

With the study abroad students at Freie Uni, I took a week long trip to Hamburg and then Copenhagen. The other option for the trip was Paris, where I was 3 months ago, so I decided on Copenhagen not really knowing what to expect.

That was the best part.

Copenhagen is easily one of the most beautiful cities I have seen in my travels so far. The city is littered with cosy cafes, quirky bookshops, live blues bars, and architecture with a perfect twist of old and modern. Needless to say, in our short trip I sipped a cappuccino more than once among the floor to ceiling bookshelves of the Paludan Cafe. A personal highlight was the round tower observatory. After walking up a twisting ramp in a medieval tower, you are greeted by a breathtaking view of the stars and Copenhagen by night. 

One of the most interesting aspects of the trip was our excursion to Christiania, an autonomous, alternative community in Copenhagen. I have never seen anything like Christiania before, and have developed a newfound respect for alternative lifestyles. Our local guide had been living there since 1974, soon after it was first established. He was humble and pleasant demeanor reminded me to appreciate the simple, everyday things in life.

Naturally I got my fix of royal palaces and castles! On a free day I ventured to the Christianborg Palace, the former royal residence. The highlight was undoubtedly the rich, intricate tapestries in the reception rooms that depict scenes from Danish history. Kronborg castle, popularly known as Shakespeare’s castle, was a short bus ride from Copenhagen and looked like a Harry Potter set. 

Copenhagen is not a city I considered visiting before I was presented with the option by my study abroad program, I never knew much about it. But that is one of the things I love about studying in Europe – I have access to places I had never even considered traveling to before. Moral of the story: If you ever travel or study in Europe, I would fit Copenhagen into your itinerary!

 

 

20131029_093302

20131030_125004

20131030_094701

20131030_113645

Leave a Reply

